From Overlooked and Undervalued To Future-Proof Career

How to future-proof your career and get paid what you’re worth.

Corey Koehler
3 min readSep 14, 2023

This is where it all started — my red pill moment.

I started realizing how much value I was creating for the company I was working for.

This realization would help me become more future-proof and have more control over getting paid what I’m worth.

I was a draftsman working in standard product development at a commercial lighting. My product and process improvements were saving and making the company a crap ton of money.

Once I started doing the math, I started feeling underpaid.

I Had Two Options

I realized I had a couple of options;

  1. I could bitch about how unfair it is and how much I’m not getting paid (while standing there with my hand out begging for money… lame).
  2. I could look for a way to make it so that I can capitalize on my value and create leverage.

I chose the latter (although I did bitch a little too).

Lucky for me, these revelations started happening about the same time the internet really started taking hold in the early 2000s.

The internet opened a lot of doors because I could educate myself without going back to school again.

I was able to devour podcasts while I worked. Those podcasts lead to books, blogs, newsletters, and online courses.

I developed a love of learning and shit ton of new skills.

I learned how to build websites, publish podcasts, run pay-per-click ads, AND make money on the side.

It also led to opportunities I didn’t see coming.

Hidden Benefits

These skills helped me move up in the company, too.

Someone in upper management noticed that I built and was promoting a fantasy football website.

Next thing you know, I’m in the marketing department. I’m managing their website, running Google Ads, and sitting in on sales meetings.

I never went to college to learn any of this stuff. I learned it all on the web, in books, and by doing it. I am proud that I was able to do this. I am very grateful for living at a time when this is possible.

Eventually, after 17 years, I was able to walk away.

On July 3rd, 2013, I would walk away from Winona Lighting and start my own business.

Moral Of The Story

So, why am I telling you this?

Because I want you to see that you don’t have to sit around and wait for a boss or manager to value your skills.

You don’t have to wait around and HOPE they see your value.

HOPE they will give you a raise.

Or, at our age, HOPE they don’t replace or retire you.

Hope is not a strategy.

Do you know what is?

This…

Learning new in-demand skills, leveraging your existing skills and experiences, and understanding how to sell them.

That is my strategy for a future-proof career.

What are your thoughts? Let's discuss. Let me know in the comments below.

P.S. One more thing before you go. I usually add some music to go along with my posts on the original posts.

If you want to hear what I chose with this one, check out the original post here:

Future-Proof Career Music

The song will be towards the bottom.

Before you go…

Wanna see something cool? I just learned this. Tap and hold the clap button and see what happens. (Cool huh?)

Don’t be a stranger. Share your thoughts below and follow for more on music, marketing, and the future of work whatnot.

Introduce yourself. If you liked this post, introduce yourself and join our community of Gen Xers going from employment to self-deployment. Join us here.

--

--

Corey Koehler

Google Ads Guy | Entrepreneur | Music and NFL Geek | 80s Kid Sharing adventures in music, marketing & early unretirement. https://start.redefiningretirement.io/